The Great Hotel Colorado Photomatix Massacre of 2012

I just bought Photomatix and am in the process of experimenting, trying to understand what it does, how best to use it, and so on. For me, learning tends to be a hands-on, screw-around-with-it process. Push buttons, play with sliders, sample all the templates and presets (even the silly ones). Over time I learn how to make it work for me, and in the meantime I have a lot of fun. Like today.

Last week I spent a couple of days in Glenwood Springs on a video shoot for a client. We stayed at the (awesome) historic Hotel Colorado,  and everywhere I looked I saw yet another shot that I’m not yet good enough to get. But I pointed and clicked anyway. Also, I tried to figure out my HDR.

I took the following in the courtyard around midnight and dumped a couple of bracketed exposures into Photomatix and began investigating the possibilities. The first shot is the one where I was sort of playing it straight (although not entirely).

Courtyard, Hotel Colorado, Glenwood Springs

Now the goofing commences. This began with one of the “Creative” presets.

Courtyard, Hotel Colorado, Glenwood Springs

Look! I’m Thomas Kinkade!

Courtyard, Hotel Colorado, Glenwood Springs

Finally, some ridiculously high-contrast black and white silliness.

Courtyard, Hotel Colorado, Glenwood Springs

No, I won’t be winning any prizes here, but I had a lot of fun learning some lessons this afternoon. Can’t beat that, can you?

Leave a Reply

